5 Stoic Journaling Questions That Will Change the way you Live Your Life

What Marcus Aurelius has taught me about simplicity and clarity of mind

Katie E. Lawrence
6 min readJun 14, 2024

This morning, I finally finished reading Meditations by Marcus Aurelius. It’s been an adventure I’ve been on for the past month, and the book has changed my life and mind in numerous ways.

Philosophy has always been fascinating to me, and the intrigue has only increased as I’ve gotten older and been recommended more great works and introduced to them in my college classes.

“Salvation in life comes from always seeing everything as it really is, by distinguishing its matter and its cause, and from wholeheartedly doing right and speaking truth. Then all that’s left is to enjoy a life of linking one good deed with another, leaving no the slightest gap between them.” — Notebook 12, note 29

While modern self-help has its merits, I think the real gold and the most helpful introspective notes on the self occur in these ancient philosophical texts.

--

--

Katie E. Lawrence

Soon to be B.S. in Human Development & Family Science. I write about life, love, stories, psychology, family, technology, and how to do life better together.